TD Canadian Children’s Lit Award Finalists Announced!

Image Courtesy of ginnerobot via Flickr (CC)

Is your little bookworm looking for a new summer read?

Last week, the Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) and TD Bank Financial Group announced the 2010 finalists for the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award. This award annually recognizes exceptional Canadian children’s literature and the winning author receives a $25,000 prize.

Finalists covered a range of subjects to entertain the active minds of children ages one through 12, including everything from coming-of-age narratives to mystical adventures.

Check out this year’s finalists:

Dragon Seer
Written by Janet McNaughton (St. John’s, NL)
HarperCollins Publishers
Ages 11 and up

“A beautifully written, magical fantasy that brings ancient history to life… this Celtic fantasy is imbued with a mythological history mixing Vikings, dragons and dragon seers.”

Home Free
Written by Sharon Jennings (Toronto, ON)
Second Story Press
Ages 10 – 13

“Jennings convincingly creates an authentic child’s point of view and perceptions in this dramatic coming-of-age narrative imbued with the power of language, words, and emotions.”

The Hunchback Assignments
Written by Arthur Slade (Saskatoon, SK)
HarperCollins Publishers
Ages 11 and up

“Slade sets this first novel of a fantasy series in the genre of steampunk, a darkly disturbing Victorian parallel universe with a focus on mechanical invention, steam power, and underworld politics and cabals.”

A Thousand Years of Pirates
Written and illustrated by William Gilkerson (Mahone Bay, NS)
Tundra Books
Ages 10 – 14

“A beautifully illustrated treasure trove of information… Chronicles the history of piracy from the time of the Vikings to the present day.”

Watching Jimmy
Written by Nancy Hartry (Toronto, ON)
Tundra Books
Ages 12 and up

“Watching Jimmy is a masterful exploration of the impact a young girl’s voice can have when she is supported by adult allies…Hartry creates a memorable portrayal of the secret subculture of childhood.”

The winning author will be announced November 9, 2010. And who knows, maybe after reading an award nominated book, your child will be inspired to ink their own novel one day!

Comments are closed.